OpenAI Raises ChatGPT Pro Limits: Key Changes To Know
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Raises ChatGPT Pro Limits: Key Changes To Know on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI raised the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans and canceled a planned reduction to the $200 Pro tier. Business Premium usage also increased, but OpenAI did not publish a multiplier; prices and several other limits are unchanged.

OpenAI increased the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance on its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans on October 29, and canceled a planned cut to the $200 Pro 200 tier that was due to begin the next day. Business Premium seats also received more usage, though OpenAI did not specify the size of that increase. The changes do not raise subscription prices.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so the increase applies to their combined usage rather than creating separate pools. OpenAI describes Work as a way to handle longer tasks, while Codex is its coding agent.

For Pro 200 subscribers, the change reverses a reduction announced in September. OpenAI says only subscribers on the lower allowance receive a doubling, bringing it in line with the higher allowance; customers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The company’s updated help page says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit also now matches the higher one. This is not a blanket doubling of every limit for every Pro customer.

Other limits remain distinct. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, and the Plus plan’s usage is unchanged. Ultrafast, the faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI says the updated allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for their next renewal.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes app…
The developmentOn October 29, OpenAI revised ChatGPT plan allowances, doubling Work and Codex usage on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and withdrawing a planned Pro 200 reduction.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

More Work for Pro Subscribers

The increase gives subscribers more capacity for long-running tasks and coding work before hitting the shared Work and Codex allowance. That may matter to customers who use those tools frequently, but the change does not mean every ChatGPT activity now has twice the limit. The plan’s other allowances and model-specific limits still apply.

For organizations, the Business Premium update may affect how much work staff can complete within a seat, but the available official information does not quantify the increase. OpenAI’s release notes say usage is rising; the larger claim that it doubled comes from a post by Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead, rather than the release notes. Companies comparing seat costs or setting usage expectations should account for that difference.

The reversal also shows that advertised plan allowances can change after customers receive notice. Subscribers should check their plan details and usage page rather than assume every “double limits” headline applies to all models, plans or types of activity.

Products Worth Considering

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

LG UltraGear 27-Inch QHD OLED Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, 0.03ms, G-SYNC Compatible, FreeSync Premium Pro, HDMI 2.1

LG UltraGear 27-Inch QHD OLED Gaming Monitor, 240Hz, 0.03ms, G-SYNC Compatible, FreeSync Premium Pro, HDMI 2.1

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut

The change follows a series of plan updates. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200 in September and later reopened it while introducing Pro 500. In a September 29 notice, the company said some included usage allowances would change from October 30, while the $200 monthly price would remain the same.

OpenAI’s October 29 note canceled the Pro 200 reduction one day before it was due to take effect. The revised help page clarifies that subscribers who had already retained the higher allowance keep it, while those on the lower allowance now receive an increase to match. The history helps explain why the Pro 200 outcome is a restoration for some customers, not a uniform doubling for everyone.

Sottiaux posted that limits were being doubled across Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. However, OpenAI’s plan documentation specifies which allowances changed and which did not. Where the broader post and the help page differ, the narrower plan-by-plan details are the clearest guide to what subscribers receive.

Business Premium Increase Unquantified

OpenAI has not published a specific multiplier or allowance figure for Business Premium in its release note. Sottiaux described the change as a doubling, but the official plan documentation cited here only says usage is increasing. The exact amount available to each seat is therefore unclear from the published details.

OpenAI also cautions that actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. A doubled allowance does not translate into twice as many completed tasks in every case. The source material does not provide a universal task count or a measure of how much more work an individual subscriber can expect to finish.

The October 29 notes do not announce changes for Free, Go or Business Standard. Their absence from this update does not establish that those plans will never change; it means only that no change for them was specified in the cited announcement. Details on the Business Premium increase and future allowance revisions may still emerge.

Check Plan Details and Usage

Existing Pro subscribers do not need to request the change: OpenAI says the updated allowance is applied automatically, without waiting for renewal. Customers can review their plan and current usage in ChatGPT to see how the change applies to their account. Anyone considering an upgrade should compare the relevant Work and Codex allowance with the separate chat limits and available speed modes.

Organizations may want to review their mix of Business Premium and other seats once OpenAI provides more precise Business Premium figures. The October announcement supplies no new timing for further plan changes. Until the company publishes additional details, customers should rely on the updated help page and release notes for the limits OpenAI has explicitly confirmed.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT plans received doubled Work and Codex allowances?

OpenAI says the shared Work and Codex allowance doubled on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, only subscribers who had the lower allowance receive a doubling, bringing it up to the higher allowance already held by some customers.

Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?

No. OpenAI says the Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro limit now matches the higher one, while Plus usage is unchanged. Work and Codex share an allowance.

How much did Business Premium usage increase?

OpenAI’s release notes confirm an increase but do not state a number. Thibault Sottiaux said it doubled, but that multiplier is not specified in the cited official release note.

Do existing subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next billing renewal.

Did subscription prices change?

No price change was announced in the October 29 update. The plan changes concern usage allowances; the cited material says prices remain the same.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Make Visuals For Creative Projects With These 15 AI Image Generators

A comparison of 15 AI image tools and related resources, from general image creation to prompt support, commerce visuals and technical learning.

Apple Silicon And macOS VMs: Faster LLM Inference With Llama.cpp

Apple Silicon Macs running macOS virtual machines now achieve faster large language model inference using llama.cpp, enhancing AI workloads on Mac hardware.

Google Genie 4 Explained: Capabilities, Weak Spots, And Who Can Use It

Google DeepMind announced Genie 4 on Oct. 27, 2026. Here is what its demos show, what remains unverified and who may get access.

Portal By Spotify Cut My Claude Code Token Usage By 90%

Spotify’s Portal platform has reportedly cut Claude Code token consumption by 90%, raising questions about resource management and AI deployment strategies.